Meeting with Alfred Tomatis

When Jozef Vervoort thinks back to his first meeting with the ENT specialist Dr Alfred Tomatis in early 1972 in his office in Paris, two things in particular come to mind: the ascetic, radiant man in his early 50s, with his own particular aura, and the immense knowledge he drew on to be able to say such an incredible amount about a person and his or her sensibilities from two blue and red lines on a sheet of paper as a result of a hearing test. The son of the Vervoort family, who suffered a lack of oxygen at birth and had learning disabilities, was the reason for the visit to Paris. As well as the son, both  father and mother had to undergo a hearing test. The child’s treatment commenced on 26 December 1972, with follow-up treatment at Easter 1973 and in the summer of the same year.

At that time, Dr Tomatis had his own institute, wrote books, carried out research into speech and hearing, tinkered with new equipment and, almost “by the by“, gave interested doctors, therapists and educationalists an insight into the field of Audio-Psycho-Phonology he had established. If, in Tomatis’ opinion, they had  adequate knowledge, he allowed them to practise as APP therapists.

Before 1976, Audio-Psycho-Phonology could only be practised under medical supervision. Then Tomatis, on leaving the chamber of doctors, was faced with the threat of exclusion. In the opinion of his peers, he had advertised his method too much, and doctors are prohibited from advertising; then as now.
In the same year, Tomatis had to look on while a comrade-in-arms and a former colleague exploited the expired patent for the Electronic Ear and developed a new device, which was offered at a lower price. The final separation came during a conference in Antwerp, which took place without Tomatis and at which a new group was formed, which, however, only existed for two years.

Some 15 faithful followers stuck by Professor Tomatis. He was also supported by a University in Toronto, Canada, which, in the following years, heavily financed the development of APP. In this way, the French pioneer in North America discovered the importance of bone conduction and precession, and developed new devices and filters for his new Electronic Ear.

In 1982, the remaining followers and representatives of new centres once again gathered in Paris, where they were given access to Tomatis’ research findings and devices. New centres opened around the world and the number of his followers grew. Tomatis passed on his knowledge at conferences and seminars and on training courses until 1996.

In 1996, the then 76-year old began to withdraw from professional life. He became ill and set about finding a successor. But his  “preferred candidate“, the Belgian Jozef Vervoort, initially turned him down because of his professional responsibility for five primary schools in Sint-Truiden. It was not until the end of 1999 that the ill scientist received the “Yes“ word from Belgium. In early 2001, he handed over all his documents to Vervoort, the result of a long and successful life in research. Alfred Angelo Tomatis did not live to see the opening of a museum in the summer of 2002 in Sint-Truiden. He died on 25 December 2001 in Carcassonne in the south of France.
 

Tomatis' legacy

Translation of the letter Alfred Tomatis wrote on 24 February 2001 and gave to Jozef Vervoort:

We, the undersigned, Alfred and Léna Tomatis, confirm that we have given thousands of books and documents regarding my research to Mr Jozef Vervoort so that work in the area of  Audio-Psycho-Phonology will continue. This intellectual heritage is to be housed and preserved in a museum of the Mozart Brain Lab Foundation, Stationsstraat 36 in Sint-Truiden (Belgium).

Carcassonne, 24. 02. 01
Alfred Tomatis L.A. Tomatis

Begegnung mit Alfred Tomatis

Denkt Jozef Vervoort an seine erste Begegnung mit dem HNO-Arzt Dr. Alfred Tomatis Anfang 1972 in dessen Büro in Paris zurück, fallen ihm vor allem zwei Dinge ein: der asketische, strahlende Mann Anfang 50, den eine eigene Aura umgab und das ungeheuere Wissen, mit dem er aus je zwei blauen und roten Strichen auf einem Blatt Papier als Ergebnis eines Hörtestes so unglaublich viel über einen Menschen und seine Befindlichkeit sagen konnte. Der entwicklungsverzögerte Sohn der Familie Vervoort, der bei der Geburt unter Sauerstoffmangel gelitten hatte, war Grund des Besuches in Paris. Außer dem Sohn mussten sich auch Vater und Mutter einem Hörtest unterziehen. Die Behandlung des Kindes begann am 26. Dezember 1972, wurde Ostern 1973 und im Sommer des Jahres fortgesetzt.
 
Dr. Tomatis hatte zu diesem Zeitpunkt sein eigenes Institut, schrieb Bücher, forschte weiter im Bereich des Hörens und Sprechens, tüftelte an neuen Geräten und gewährte beinahe „nebenbei“ interessierten Ärzten, Therapeuten und Pädagogen Einblick in die von ihm begründete Audio-Psycho-Phonologie. Hatten sie nach Tomatis’ Meinung ein ausreichendes Wissen erlangt, erlaubte er ihnen, als APP-Therapeut zu praktizieren.
 
Bis 1976 durfte die Audio-Psycho-Phonologie nur unter ärztlicher Aufsicht ausgeübt werden, ehe Tomatis mit seinem Austritt aus der Ärztekammer dem drohenden Ausschluss zuvor kam. Er hatte nach Ansicht seiner Standeskollegen zuviel Werbung für seine Methode gemacht. Und Werbung ist Ärzten nun einmal verboten; damals wie heute.
 
Im gleichen Jahr musste Tomatis mit ansehen, wie Mitstreiter und ein ehemaliger Mitarbeiter das ausgelaufene Patent am elektronischen Ohr nutzten und ein neues Gerät entwickelten, das günstiger angeboten wurde. Zum endgültigen Bruch kam es im Verlaufe eines Kongresses in Antwerpen, der ohne Tomatis stattfand und bei dem sich eine neue Gruppe bildete, die aber nur zwei Jahre existierte.
 
Etwa 15 Anhänger hielten zu Professor Tomatis. Darunter auch eine Universität in Toronto/Kanada, die in den Folgejahren die Weiterentwicklung der APP stark finanzierte. So entdeckte der französische Pionier in Nordamerika die Bedeutung der Knochenleitung und der Precession, entwickelte dort neue Geräte und Filter für sein neues elektronisches Ohr.
 
1982 versammelten sich die verbliebenen Getreuen und Vertreter neuer Zentren wieder einmal in Paris. Sie bekamen Einblicke in Tomatis’ Forschungsergebnisse und die neuen Geräte. Immer neue Zentren entstanden weltweit, immer größer wurde die Zahl seiner Anhänger. Auf Kongressen, Seminaren und Weiterbildungen bis 1996 gab Tomatis sein Wissen weiter.
 
1996 begann der Rückzug des damals 76-Jährigen aus dem Berufsleben. Er wurde krank, sorgte sich um einen Nachfolger. Doch sein „Wunschkandidat“, der Belgier Jozef Vervoort, lehnte aufgrund seiner beruflichen Verantwortung für fünf Grundschulen in St.-Truiden anfangs ab. Erst Ende 1999 erhielt der kranke Wissenschaftler das Ja-Wort aus Belgien, überließ Vervoort Anfang 2001 sämtliche Unterlagen seines langen und erfolgreichen Forscherlebens. Die Eröffnung eines Museums im Sommer 2002 in St.-Truiden erlebte Alfred Angelo Tomatis nicht mehr. Er starb am 25. Dezember 2001 im südfranzösischen Carcassonne.
 

Tomatis' Vermächtnis

Übersetzung des Briefes, den Alfred Tomatis am 24. Februar 2001 schrieb und Jozef Vervoort überreichte:

Wir die Unterzeichner, Alfred und Léna Tomatis, bestätigen, dass wir  tausende Bücher und Dokumente meiner Forschungen an Herrn Jozef Vervoort gegeben haben, mit dem Ziel, dass die Arbeit auf dem Gebiet der Audio-Psycho-Phonologie fortgesetzt wird.

Dieses intellektuelle Erbe soll in einem Museum des Vereins Mozart-Brain-Lab, Bahnhofstraße 36 in Sint-Truiden (Belgien), untergebracht und erhalten werden.

Carcassonne, den 24. 02. 01

Alfred Tomatis          L.A. Tomatis